Dancing Candle, Dancing Mind

I’m sitting here in meditation, staring at a candle flame, trying to just be within each moment. Just sitting there, watching this little flame.

It’s an unusual candlelight, this one. Although there are no drafts or fans or otherwise air movement about, this little flame is dancing about like crazy. Up and down amd left and right. Nearly sputtering out then bursting forth ablaze again.

As I sit here I realize that this little candlelight is doing exactly what my mind is doing just now. Nearly going out into dissociated haze. Jumping alight with this slim thread of what feels like peace that I’ve been chasing all day. Dancing left dancing right. Am i under threat or not? Do I cut my losses and run, to never see my therapist again? Or to go in tomorrow after a three-week absence and spill my guts about how much I have been struggling and how even though i know it’s only a case of the transference bug I still have the feeling that she will be going away from me soon?

Up down left right dance Splinty dance.

And then as I sit here I realize that despite the wild machinations and meanderings that this little flame is going through…..it remains lit. There is a commitment to itself, as if to say hey I may be a crazy little flame and I may be all over the place, but I am still giving off light and color and warmth. I’m still here.

And so it is with me. Banged up as i may be, as anxious as I seem to need myself to be, I’m still here.

So I will be jumpy and twitchy and be unable to keep still–yes. But I made it. I know that this show is just the drama queens’ (the Teenagers’) way of saying we don’t like this this is just like all the rest. But it’s not.

It’s 2010. I am a grown woman. I have chosen to remain here. I may be dinged and the Voices may be screaming but my light’s still on.

Now the only remaining question is what do I do with the next 25 hours. Really–ya gotta laugh.

6 Comments

  1. November 30, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Great post! You’ve reached a place where you’re beginning to see just how strong, how creative, how intelligent you are – dancing or not. I celebrate your insight! *tossing confetti*

    • Splinteredonss said,

      December 1, 2010 at 6:43 am

      Thanks dear one. Be nice if I didn’t have to go thru the machjnations…soon come.

  2. Karita said,

    December 1, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Great insight. And I adore the flickering candle image. I may start using a candle to guide my mind.

    • Splinteredonss said,

      December 1, 2010 at 2:38 pm

      I wasn’t even planning anything. It just..happened. Give it a try. Thanks hon miss u! ;)

  3. December 2, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Isn’t it beautiful what meditation can teach us about ourselves.

    • Splinteredonss said,

      December 2, 2010 at 7:02 am

      Yes, it is. Use ur life, right? Thank you hon ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

