Playing Music I Don’t Know

I have been superglued to my piano keyboard the past week or so.  Christmas carols.  That I’ve heard all my life but have never played before, nor seen sheet music for before as far as I know. 

I decided to teach myself piano a few months ago.  Got a keyboard and a How To Learn Piano beginner’s book.  I caught on pretty much right away. Scarily so.  It was as if I personally wasn’t hitting the keys in proper sequence.  I understood the basic music theory, basic chords, both staffs…..as soon as I sat down.  I was playing some pretty complicated stuff from the get-go, headphones on so nobody would hear.  I tweeted at the beginning only the songs I was playing, not the Mystery Player inside. 

Tinylittles seem to be entranced with the music as it has turned to the Christmas season.  I know they’re very young, two to fourish I’d say, because they don’t carry any splints of the Christmas Eve Horrors that began when I was five.  It’s a nice thing because their enthusiasm is really helping me shed my traditional Christmas Hell this year.  We’re doing a bunch of cool stuff this year, and I find that I’m really enjoying it. 

It is freakish, though, that I can sit down at the keyboard, stumble thru three or four repetitions of sheet music on a given song, then just put the music away and play the song.  I did that with Little Drummer Boy and Silent Night last night.  Knew them both and was improvising on both pieces within an hour.

I have never had a music lesson on piano or anything else to my knowledge.  The Ones Who Play keep saying something about how music is just Base 8.  Which would put me somewhere around the third grade or so when I learned about Bases in math.  I was a very advanced student.  Anyway, perhaps some math teacher taught me music as a way to better understand Bases or something, nothing I’m aware of but this is really very odd.  My father is a jazz cornetist, mom was a first soprano, and sister was a near prodigy on the violin.  ]

So it could be that my genes suit me to musical expression, I dunno.  It’s one of those mysteries of the chronically dissociated.  I can sense being completely enraptured by the notes that I am playing, even though I have little sense of what note goes where in my fingers. 

I’ve talked this over with C.  I adore her because she is not so much into diving into who The Player is, what age they are if they have a name blah blah blah.  She’s only concerned with how cool it really is that I get to do music too.  It disturbs me though.

I’ve been co-conscious since seeing C, so since last….when did I get dumped, April or May?  And even though the tinylittles are entranced and even though this is all a really pretty cool thing, it feels like there’s abit more oversharing than I would like to have.

In the end, I suppose it doesn’t really matter.  I can still function, not getting my painting done but it’s really making this an enjoyable part of the year for the first time in my memory.  I am having fun with my wife and that’s just priceless.

So I suppose I’ll just continue on, playing music I don’t know.  It’s fun and it’s pretty.  And it’s helping me get thru a really rugged time on the calendar.  I would like it if the tinylittles weren’t so constantly jumping up and down, pleading to go play christmas music pleeeeeeeease.  It’s hard to take a nap when you’re seeing endless chord progressions in your head.

7 Comments

  1. IAmEchad said,

    December 6, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    hi hon

    I second C. I think it’s great just acknowledging that you have a gift. The rest will come when they’re ready to be known. In the meantime, I hope you’re able to enjoy the music :)

    • Splinteredones said,

      December 6, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      Yep, thanks. Still, kinda bugs me.

  2. December 7, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Good for you! Do you get the sheet music with the chords? Then you can just arpeggiate the chords on your left hand, and play the melody on your right.

    • Splinteredonss said,

      December 7, 2010 at 3:32 pm

      Yes, I don’t know what that means but it’s very familiar at the same time. Thanks hon ;)

  3. Karita said,

    December 7, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I think this is just lovely, that you can play music and get joy from it, and give joy to the littles too. And even more amazing about some littles helping you to enjoy Christmas because they don’t have all of your memories. Wonderful. :D

    • Splinteredonss said,

      December 7, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      I haven’t seen it in that light, as in a gift. That IS cool! Thanks again my dearheart for giving me a better interpretation!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

