Flashback Grows Up

Weirdest thing happened to me last night. Usually Xmas is a very rough time for me, stuffed with flashbacks and nightmares. Tgis year it’s been going swimmingly–none of that stuff until last night.

It was one of those dreams that go on forever, i hate that. Anyway, this dream started out like it has pretty much my whole life, chock full of incidents in which i am being sexually abused in one form or another…

And then, suddenlt, i was an adult. The other kids in the dream, various cousins who had witnessed these events over the years, were all adults as well. And Uncle Norman was both dead and in the room at the same time.

I was saying why doesn’t anybody get that this was wrong? My cousin Nornmie says it happened to all of us. I say it’s still not right and he shrugs his shoulders, says yah well it’s Christmas, look at the pretty tree.

It goes on like this forever. I, the adult me, says why isn’t anybody getting how wrong this was? Indifference in response.

Here’s how I am going to interpret this dream: I am an adult. Nothing is happening to me anymore, even though it’s Christmas Eve. I am safe now. My main concern is that nobody gets it, how horrid was the whole shebang.

Was. Past tense. I keep asking until I finally say well enougg from u people. It’s still wrong.

And then i wake up. It’s a big step I think, changing preoccupation in my sleeping mind from what happened to what is wrong with u folks that u won’t see it’s vileness. Deciding that it doesn’t matter if they get it or not. Still was wrong.

So yeah. Flashbacks do grow up. Cool.

5 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    December 10, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    I’m smiling. For you. :) So glad this is your now:)

  2. Karita said,

    December 10, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Awesome.

  3. IAmEchad said,

    December 11, 2010 at 9:07 am

    That is awesome – not needing validation from other family members to know that what happened was wrong and vile. Good word choice.

    It’s hard work, but such an important healing step.

    safe hugs to you….

  4. Splinteredonss said,

    December 11, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Thanks gals. It is prettycool!

  5. December 11, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    What a very healing dream for you. I have done much of this kind of healing in dreams myself.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

