Dear Therapists You suck

I have been in therapy for severe ongoing sadistic child abuse for over a dozen years. I have worked very, very hard at it and the fight has been exhausting.

I work with with clients who are pretty much all attachment disordered in some way. I have been trained and I M
Very, very good at what I do. I transform people’s li es all the time.

There is a big difference between the way I deal with my clients and the ways i’ve been dealt with in my own therapy.

I care. I am genuinely concerned. I keep in touch. I am
Available when one of my people has a crisis or a breakthru.I do not charge people for caring about them it is just the way I roll.

However. I no longer believe that I can be cared about by any therapist. You people sit and listen and say helpful or decent things then you Take my checks and I am out the door. Neverto be thought of again until the financial clock starts ticking again.

I have been restrained from talking abouy my experience in therapy. Implied threat being stop it or I will dump you. Dance, splinteredones, dance.

Everybody likes us compliant. Nobody gives a shit when we are being our honest self.

It’s a good racket you people have going foe you. You pretend to give a shit and you get paid quite nicely for the pretense. But we are tired of playing the game. I am
Tired of bearing all about how great my life would be if I only smiled or had positive thoughts or whatever fucking fairy dust is afoot at any given moment.

What I don’t get is how convincing you people cN be. We buy it every time, wow this person really cares. Only to later discover that of course it’s just one more pile of shit. That is wicked cold. You should all be shot for this.

Well. It’s a nice gig but we’re jus over the game. It is way too damaging.

19 Comments

  1. tigerbean said,

    February 17, 2010 at 11:29 am

    What do you mean you’ve “been restrained from talking about [your] experience in therapy. “???????

  2. February 17, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Just that.

    • tigerbean said,

      February 17, 2010 at 11:40 am

      I don’t understand. Can’t you talk about whatever the heck you want to? It’s your blog, after all. And there’s nothing identifiable….grrrr. makes me mad on your behalf.

  3. me said,

    February 17, 2010 at 11:49 am

    i’m talking about my therapy on my blog, why shouldn’t you? only reason i am password protecting mine, is to avoid one particularly malevolent ex, really.

    splint, are you stopping therapy?

    what’s going on?

    • February 17, 2010 at 12:12 pm

      Dunno. Sick of paying to be emotionally used

    • me said,

      February 17, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      i always thought that therapists were there to do a job, not become an emotional attachment?

  4. jo-sexualself-injury said,

    February 17, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Would you be able to talk to your therapist about your frustations? I’ve had a few fall-outs with my therapist, but they have always been my fault. He just puts up with me. I’m lucky to have an understanding therapist that puts up with my little hissy fits.
    Hope you can work this through.
    jo

  5. February 17, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Nothing to say.

    • jo-sexualself-injury said,

      February 17, 2010 at 1:21 pm

      Are there any chances you can find another therapist? I know that’s much easier said than done. Good therapists are hard to come by.
      You’re a good person and deserve the help you need.
      jo

  6. Ravin said,

    February 17, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I hardly would call being attacked by a client and then the blowback of that a “hissy fit.”

    I would expect my TD to be involved and willing to listen to anything I had to say. That’s what therapy is about. I mean I’m new to this therapy thing, but others in our system have been doing ‘it’ for a long ass time.

    Our TD told our Ren that she was there to help carry the burden of telling, to be the witness to her history, the guide back to the present and to model what being a human was about. Geez to me that’s a tall order but she’s kept her word.

    Not like she’s easy either, she can be VERY blunt, but we hired her for that quality. Sometimes she uses a sledge hammer when a regular hammer would due, but without fail she’s been open. She’s never said don’t write about anything, don’t speak of your abuse, she’s left her name in our old journal in a comment. Even when we confront her with what we feel is a slight, she listens and many times she’s seen what we saw/felt. Some things she could change others she wasn’t up for, but we agree to disagree till we find some common ground.

    Hmmmm that’s just to say I think they’re out there and sometimes it takes some rough spots to get thru to the ‘relationship’ of therapy. Our TD didn’t even believe in DID when we first went there, BIG change on that playing field.

    Hope you can find a better fit. Or that this one can change to be able to help you not herself.

    Ravin

    • February 17, 2010 at 2:04 pm

      Thanks. We’ve been doing this for so long…they’re all the same. But thanks for your comments.

    • jo-sexualself-injury said,

      February 17, 2010 at 2:51 pm

      Ravin
      I was referring to myself as having a hissy fit, no one else. I was only referring to MYSELF and MY therapist, no one else.
      jo

  7. Karita said,

    February 17, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    So much of what you have written about your therapy sessions has sounded so helpful. I’m sorry this has happened.

    *Hugs*

  8. February 17, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    They’re all the same.


Leave a Reply

