Mindfulness Practice

So. I’ve done a day’s work and am resting. I lay down on the couch close my eyes and just tune in. Slow breath, listen to that at first. Slowly, slowly I become aware of the beating of my heart. It slows, becomes stronger.

I begin at the top of my head, seeing it in my mind. I feel the energy settling down my head front to back, orbiting it as it sinks down, covering me like a cocoon going down my body. Relaxing, just letting it be. Heart slows yet more. And so it goes, until I am completely enveloped. In rest, in total calm. A centeredness, gratitude. A connection to all living beings.

Once Body is settled down, I set my attention to my mind. I just watch, wait to see what surprises my mind is going to bring to me. And today is no exception. Catastrophic health problems. I look at what it is, this fear. I turn it around in my mind what does it mean? Of course I am quite sick, but Dr. Julie is on top of it all.

I aak myself what is behind this sudden freakout about a physical form I don’t even care about. Fear. There’s a fear. Control. Out of control and into the hand of physicians. Trusting, being forced to trust. Forced, being forced.

Then suddenly the fog of anxiety lifts.I get by sitting and watching what my head brings up, I can learn from it and use it.

Buddhism does not fight the world. It does not bend to the world. There is delight and unhappiness and birth and death and joy and desire. Our job is to notice, accept. Hear what Ego is telling us. And do something else.

There is peace here. I used to think it was about being dissociated from all things. Especially desire. But if we have no desire, what is the point in pursuing enlightment?

Bu it’s all about mindfulness. It’s about becoming completely aware. Good stuff, bad stuff, stuff that makes no sense. Stuff in languages we don’t even know.

Don’t close up. Don’t shut down. Don’t harm yourself. Just sit. Namaste.

7 Comments

  1. Letty V said,

    April 10, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    (((((((( hug )))))))))))))

    Thank you.

  2. April 11, 2010 at 6:59 am

    Namaste.

  3. moreheads said,

    April 11, 2010 at 8:02 am

    That’s excellent you can do this for your selves!

    • April 11, 2010 at 9:50 am

      It is always the first thing that flies out the window. Trying to get that that’s exactly when I need my Practice haaaa

  4. Susan said,

    April 11, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    S; I found your blog via emergingfrombroken.com and I believe I have seen your comments on other blogs but not sure where. I am always amazed at how I “find” new resources, information and like minds as I travel my own journey. I love the thoughtful way you describe your mindfulness experience. I also apply mindfulness skills to my healing path but I don’t think I could describe the act and process in this way. So nice to meet you and find your blog…Namaste

    • April 11, 2010 at 12:57 pm

      Yes, the connections. Great. So glad that you stopped by. Yes, mindfulness is like penicillin for the soul. Namaste

  5. Susan said,

    April 11, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    .


Leave a Reply

