Mind/Body connection proven

So. I have suffered with this horrible bug thing for nearly two months. Fevers that come and go, shortness of breath, bone-tired after the slightest exertion. Washing dinner dishes has been nearly impossible.

My gp put me thru every conceivable test. Except for amlittle fluid around my heart at exercise everything came
Back fine. Fine. My doctor said to me that I am the healthiest very-unwell person she knows. I’ve been on 100% bedrest on weekends and nights for weeks. Sex has been off-limits, which has not helped anything but just made ms crabby ;).

During this time I had been in intense therapy. Three times a week with an “expert” in trauma and dissociation. I ha e frankly been a raving lunatic.

This past Monday T abruptly dumped me, which frankly is good riddance for me. I have felt nothing negatively about this (well with a few easily combat-able voices).

Since Tuesday I have been feeling great. Each day I seem to feel better than the day before. Since Wednesday my fevers have not been over 99. I am able to do more every day. I still get easily winded but that tiredness and achiness in just raising my hand is already beginning to dissipate

For the first time in weeks I am off full bedrest. I am
To be careful and not overdo, but under these parameters I can do what I will. Like going out to dinner. Like going to see a movie. Like getting laid. Carefully so but this is a biggie for me. I kinda fear that I will explode into a hundred tiny bits and be all over the walls. But those of you who know me know that that’s just fine with me. ;).

Now. Am I saying that my therapist made me physically I’ll? No. Of course I would never say that. But I will say that trauma therapy that is poorly managed can indeed cause physical illness. I am living proof.

2 Comments

  1. May 14, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Stress definitely can cause illness. Dealing with stress is still something that I haven’t learned to deal with so that I don’t get headaches. Went to bed with one last night hoping that sleep would take it away. At 8:30 this morning, got up and had to take my prescription pain pills because my headache was so bad. It grew instead of going away through the night. I hate taking pain pills. When the pain becomes too much, I do.

    • May 14, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      Ouch. That’s gotta be a bitch. This has never happened to me before…but is what is.


Leave a Reply

