Transitional Objection

Splinterdones has been kind enough to allow me to write (my first ever) guest post on her blog. Therefore, I am an amateur at this. Although, I do have my own blog (Hopefortrauma) that I use to disperse my grandeurious thoughts/delusions through the inter-webs.

Nevertheless, a rather pertinent issue that Splint and I have discovered is transitions. As a multiple, the word “transition” can have many meanings. However, for this blog post I will be discussing the transition onto a new therapist as well as things that I do to “switch” from session mode to productive-ish mode.

Adjusting to a new therapist is very challenging for me. One may become accustomed to their previous therapist through many aspects such as their voice, clothing choices, office space etc. Regulating oneself to a new environment can be difficult but not impossible.

When I was forced to leave my therapist whom worked at a trauma program, I compared every therapist I met to her. This made it more difficult to choose a new therapist to work with. And when I finally decided to separate my previous therapist from my newer potential therapist, was when I found someone I was willing to collaborate with.

I have a hard time acclimating myself to new offices for therapy because I am very tactile which is not always a bad thing. However, when I started with my current therapist I went to her office early, so I could evaluate the surrounding (and find the best possible way to exit if needed). Then I went home and drew where all her furniture was within her office as well as where she sat etc.

It helped my parts & I to get more comfortable in the new surroundings. Well this was until I learned my therapist had two offices 🙂

Since I am a college student as well as multiple, multitasking is what I do 24/7. However, after therapy sessions, my brain feels so overloaded & rather mushy. This makes multitasking sometimes impossible.

I made this playlist on my iPod that is my “chill out music”. My drive is rather long so I try to center myself before I get behind the wheel. I park in a safe yet far away place so I am required to walk which helps me to ground myself after sessions.

Also after I get home if one of my parts or I am not ready to be productive I let myself have 90 minutes to do self-care-ish things. This could sometimes be coloring, writing or just laying on my carpet to decompress from my venture into the past.

I think having a schedule can be helpful for some parts because they know what to expect and I enjoy controlling things. Therapy is not easy and it may help to give oneself permission to just be whatever afterwards as well as before.

Transitions are sometimes scary for both myself as well as my  internal system. But, I think it is important to notice when and if one may need time to just chill out.

Acclimating to anything in life can take time but I think it is important to allow yourself “breathing room” to step back and realize how far you have come along the journey and to live in the moment.

1 Comment

  1. Karita said,

    May 19, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    Great post! Guest posts are awesome. And self-care is such a valuable lesson to learn. 🙂


Leave a Reply

