Meditating Head

I am often asked by people how it is that I can quieten my whirling dervish of a mind enough to meditate, which I do pretty much every day. Folks say I just sit there and my head drives me nuts and I have to stop. What’s the trick?

The trick is that meditation is a Practice. Because the more you practice it, the easier and more helpful it becomes. It fakes practice to figure out how to let go of the bags of flaming fuck that come flying at us every day.

The whole idea of meditation practice is not to have an empty mind. The idea is to notice, just notice what is happening in your head. Watch it come and let it go by. Don’t probe deeper I to the self-judgments and the feArs and the dispassionate rages. Just look at them and ask no questions. If you don’t gondiving in they will pass on by.

The more able you become to let thoughts leave your mind in meditation the more adeptly you will be able to do so in your walkabout day. And that is a fantastic feeling.

Of course there is a potential goldmine to existence thru meditation. If thru your practice you can unattach from all
Need, ALL need, you in this instant become Enlightened. And when you’re enlightened you stop having to be reincarnated into life after life of suffering. Because that is what Life is. Life is Suffering.

I thought it might be helpful for me to share some of the things that come to my brain when I’m in meditation today so you can see that it’s not really about splitting off and emptying your brain. So. These are things that came into my head as I was meditating just now:

I kissed a boy and I liked it taste of her cherry lipstick I kissed a boy and I liked it hope my boyfriend won’t mind it.

Breathe. In to tan den. Out thru tan den. In out in out hear it in out

You don’t realize how empty this country is ’till you’ve been above it in a plane.

How long does wifey have before we have to move to a warm dry climate foe her health I hope she’ll be good another ten years when we’re better prepared financially for a big hunk of land.

Albuquerque. What a weird name. Beautiful but freezing at night. Breathe. In. Out. In. Out. In. Out. Stop it. In out

Breeeeethe. So glad ssanquist is on forward motion. Worry about her, so hard to be on the upslope of moving cross-country.

Why am I smelling cowshit? Man this new cat food is bru-tal.

So sweet of wifey to call me from the game. So glad I told her how it feels when she’s completely out of touch w/me on the road.

Breathe. Jesus H. Breeeeeethe. Fear. What is this? Breathe let it come. Ah the taking charge thing again. Go away. Rain rain go away come again some other day. Eww kidhood. Uh oh.

No. Breathe. In out in out. Clean out chakras do ur qi gong. Up from the ground out around the world in thru tan den up past top of ur head in down thru the front to tan dem out down thru feet. Tanden gets bigger, tanden gets smaller in out in out.

Danika Patrick Meryl Streep Katharine Hepburn Bette Davis Joan Crawford. Farrah fawcett now there’s a brave woman.

Breathe. Breathe. Breathe. In. Out. In. Out.

So that’s kinda what meditation is. Things come in, look at them and release their significance. Aaaahhhhhh. It just takes Practice.

2 Comments

  1. June 17, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Very good description for anybody who practices meditation. Thank you.

    • Splinteredones said,

      June 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm

      I’m glad 😉


Leave a Reply

