Call for submissions-Carnival against Child Abuse

I will be hosting the Blog Carnival Against Child Abuse for November. Our theme, which you can choose to address or not, is….what else….ta daaaaaaa…..drumroll please….. HOLIDAY TRIGGERS! It’s a tough time for many survivors and thrivers. We’re shown all these images of perfect, happy homes, fried turkeys Santa Claus and dredles. Which for so many just didn’t ever exist. Oftentimes the abuse was ratcheted up a notch. Happy Holidays, indeed.

Feel free to say whatever the heck you want to about the Holiday Season in this month’s Carnival. Ranting and raving is allowed, please add “trigger” to rough stuff. It’s also a great time to talk about how you cope with it all (hint for you professionals out there especially!).

Your submission doesn’t have to be original, you know. You can submit something you wrote five years ago that works for you. Participatiuon is the buzzword here. Of course, you can just ignore this month’s theme and talk about any of our regular monthly topics:

-Advocacy and Awareness
-Aftermath
-Healing and Therapy
-In the News
-Poetry
-Survivor Stories
-Art Therapy

The purpose of the Carnival Against Child Abuse is to raise awareness about the serious issue of child abuse. All forms of abuse – physical, emotional, sexual, spiritual, verbal – are discussed. We highlight blog posts from child abuse survivor stories, survivor art and poetry, child abuse as a topic in the news media, as well as PTSD, dissociation and other areas of the abuse aftermath that adult survivors are forced to deal with. We link to hopeful posts about therapy, recovery, and healing from abuse. All forms of child advocacy and awareness are included.

I’m looking for new posts that you have written specifically for the carnival, or an old post from your archive. You are not limited to just one submission! I know that (surprise) I have alot to say about all of this stuff, so expect to see it. Again–participate! It’ll help you feel better!

You can submit your posts here using the form, or you can email your links to me at splinteredones@gmail.com

I’ll be taking submissions until midnight Tuesday November 23rd and the Carnival will be posted on Friday the 26th.

Thank you! I’m excited to read all of your fabulous submissions this month. Namaste _/|\_

8 Comments

  1. November 19, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    […] Call for submissions-Carnival against Child Abuse-Theme: Holiday Triggers (via Splinteredones’s Blog) [SEO: There's still time to submit your post(s) for the "holiday […]

  2. Cindy Ashton said,

    November 20, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    So wonderful you are doing this my dear.

    • November 20, 2010 at 12:51 pm

      Pleeeeeeeeese submit? Pllllleeeeeeeze? *big puppy dog eyes*. You have such a beautiful message

  3. November 21, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Cool Beans Splinty,
    Thanks for asking me to be part of this ~ I will send you something today.
    Hugs, Darlene

  4. Tracey said,

    November 21, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    I still look back on the day when my uncle molested me sometimes. How small and innocent I was. I never told a soul until I was in my early 40’s, which was my father. He fell silent on the telephone with me. He also apologized, however he never did confront this monster. My uncle died a few years later of heroin addiction. Till this day my father and I never talk about “IT” I have moved on and I am still sober, 8 years now! However I will never forget what had happened to me as a child. Peace ~

  5. November 26, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Splinty, I just received the email for the November Blog Carnival Against Child Abuse but the link doesn’t work. It keeps telling me the File cannot be found. Tried it 4 different times and it just still didn’t work.

    • Splinteredonss said,

      November 26, 2010 at 12:09 pm

      Hi hon–i have i think 3 things that i’d been sent from Tracie…hmmmm.. I’ve included them but i can’t figure out how to make links work so although it’s written–none of the links are dropped in. Suspect perhaps WP isn’t working!


Leave a Reply

